Jessup’s Marital Questions – Part 3 (Seeking God)

(Read Part Two)

“I’m saying the love of God comes first, in everything and with everybody. That’s all your wife is saying should be first between you two.  Do you have a problem with that?”

“So I’m not allowed to love her more than God, is that it?” Jessup queried, slightly disgruntled.

“Why would you want to do that, Jessup?” asked the counselor.  “Does she do more for you than God?”

“In some things, YES, in my opinion,” the man answered, looking like a little boy. “I can’t have sex with God or go fishing with Him. God can’t cook me a fine meal or bear my children. There’s lots of things Jesus can’t do for me that my wife can.  Why shouldn’t I be more grateful to her than to Him for it?”

The counselor averted his eyes in deeper understanding of Jessup’s heart.  Here was a man who was a boy inside, and that was pretty common. This “boy” was also angry at God, which was also common. But the obvious cry of his heart’s emotions was not all that common. This “boy/man” desperately wanted God, though he didn’t seem to know how to say that. ‘Why’ was the prevailing question on his heart; its outcry resounded louder than any complaint. Why love God more? Why need Him… more? Why? Is there truly something in it for me (as there clearly seems to be for my wife)?  And, if so… WHAT?

More than anything it was clear to the counselor that, through his questioning, Jessup was a man genuinely seeking God…

(TO BE CONTINUED…)

Leave a Reply (No links, please!)

