Jessup’s Marital Questions – Part 2

[Review Part One]

“I expected her to be appreciative and say so,” he answered.  “What I told her was a really hard thing… for me, anyway.”

“So you felt you were being vulnerable, is that it?” the counselor offered.

Jessup sipped his coffee with his eyebrows raised, “Yeah, in a way, I did.  I trust her to have the biggest part of everything; not just of me, but of everything I own.  I mean, shouldn’t a husband do that for a wife if he loves her?”

The counselor looked up from his notes, sympathetically.

“Jessup, when you have a serious relationship with the Lord like your wife, your focus is not on the things of the earth.  The main thing… the main Person in your life is Him.  Can you understand that?”

The new husband put his coffee cup down.  “In spiritual things, yes; but this is about our marriage.  In the things about marriage, I thought it was God Who said that the husband belongs to the wife and the wife belongs to the husband.  Is that not true?  It was all I was saying to her.”

The counselor scooted forward and said, “Yes, as it pertains to sexual relations and intimacy, man and wife do belong to each other, Jessup.  But you didn’t specify any of that.  I hope you’re not saying this now just to make more sense to me.  I hope you realize your wife is simply saying God has total charge of your lives in every area, and it’s only by His permission that your bodies are given to one another in matters of intimacy.  Actual ownership of everything you two are belongs to God.  That’s what she is saying.”

Jessup crossed his legs and slumped slightly in his chair.  “So are you saying I shouldn’t love her this much, or want her to love me in return like that?  Are you saying there should be limits or boundaries to how much I love my wife?”

(TO BE CONTINUED…)

Leave a Reply (No links, please!)

